top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKirsten Lies-Warfield

PREFACE: A Quandary


I am not needy, I am not loud, I do not cling, my wants are modest, my expectations low, my ambition mild. I am not going to step on the back of my sister trying to get to higher ground, forcing her into the mire under my weight, in fact I have dared to ask for protections to bar this scenario from happening. This request has proven be problematic when it comes to the question of who bears the responsibility of protection if anyone. It may be an unreasonable expectation given that there are very few who would want to use their station to be an enforcer there being very little in it for them. Should we then fend off those who would cut our throats ourselves and if we are not able, should our demise be seen as nature taking its course? Should the strongest or perhaps sneakiest, cheatingest, slyest, most ruthless take the power won by their might? Shall the assholes rightfully inherit the earth? By the same token, do I espouse the virtues of protecting the weak because it is in my self interest? Am I simply too good of a student of my therapist, finding value in myself and thinking I have something to offer even if I am not the best, strongest or loudest? If I was not weak, would my morals be the same? If I held the power to enrich myself at others' expense, would I take the opportunity or would I refrain? Would I take up the mantle of protector of those low in power or would I see it as the right thing to do to take every advantage that I was afforded, the fact that it came my way rather than going to someone else being a justification in itself of my worthiness?

Furthermore, should my morals be affected by the ethics of an organization of which I am a part? Can an organization have ethics if its individual members do not abide by those ethics in deed? I was a part of an organization that promoted very clear values: loyalty, duty, respect, selfless service, honor, integrity, and personal courage. Put the first letter of each value together and what do you get? Loosely spelled "ldrshp"=leadership. These words were everywhere and the army put their money where their mouth was. Talk is cheap, but a framed motivational poster is $19.95. Hang it from the wall for all to see, preach it to others, hang it from your peoples' necks, speak it aloud en masse, put these values on an evaluation form checking the box for each individual that holds those values and no one could possibly question your commitment. In doing this, you will find liberation both for yourself and the organization as you are free to abide by morals of self-enrichment while maintaining the values of the organization through sheer amount of signage. Is it ethical? The laws of liability might suggest it is and I would certainly advise taking this stance because only a fool would give up comfort, status and wealth for nothing but enforcement of an ideal.

Therefore, it seems that this request of protection is unreasonable and furthermore, I was unreasonable for making the request, for having an expectation that the words on the wall would be manifest in deeds of the individuals of the organization. I concede, it was my error.


360 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page